Amar Sagoo

Exercised: Privacy policy

Does the app share any of my data?

The app aims to make it more convenient for you to add data to Apple Health, and it doesn’t use your information for any other purpose. It never shares it with any other third party or the developer, and in fact never itself transfers data off your device. It only ever either:

  1. Adds information to your Apple Health database. From there, the data may get used by other apps you’ve authorized to do so, synchronised to iCloud and your other devices, or transferred as part of backups you make.
  2. Saves information to the app’s storage on your device, inaccessible to other apps. From here it may get transferred as part of any backups you make.

How is my health information used?

The app’s main purpose is to help you add information to Apple Health about when you exercised and how much energy you burned. It can only do this once you’ve given the app permission in Apple Health to add workouts and active energy. (Note that this information can then also be read by any other apps you’ve authorised to do so.) The app doesn’t store its own copy of your list of workouts after you add them to Apple Health. (On how visits to places are handled, see How is my location information used? below.) The app will remember some details, such as the time of day of the last workout you added, so that it can better pre-fill the form in the future. It stores this information only on your device.

The workouts you added through the app are read back from the Apple Health database in order to display them to you. The app can also display your move goal and progress if you’ve authorised it to. It never shares any of these data.

Calculating energy burned involves knowing your body weight. If you’ve ever added your weight to Apple Health, and given the app permission to read it, it will use this to pre-fill the form when adding a workout. The app will remember your weight from the last workout you added through it, so that it can reuse it next time. It stores this information only on your device.

How is my location information used?

To make adding workouts easier, the app can try to guess when you’ve been to exercise at places you specify. It stores the list of these regions only on your device.

Detecting visits relies on having location access for the app set to “Always”. However, because of how region monitoring works on iOS and iPadOS, the app doesn’t itself need to continuously monitor your location. Instead, the operating system informs the app only when your device enters or exits the regions you specified.

When the app thinks you've done a workout at one of your specified places, it stores this fact on your device. You can see a list of these detected workouts in the app. Once you add a detected workout to Apple Health or if you delete it, the information about that visit is erased from the app’s storage.

The app may also determine your current location while you’re adding a place, in order to provide you with more relevant search results.

How is my motion information used?

To try and guess the timing of your workouts more accurately, the app can use device motion information if you authorise this. After a visit is detected, the app asks the operating system about the motions your device experienced between entering and exiting the region. It can only do this for visits from the last 7 days. If it’s able to derive an improved estimate of the start and end time, it stores this as part of the detected workout for that visit. It stores this information only on your device. When you delete a detected workout or add it to Apple Health, any associated motion information is deleted from the app’s storage.